Statement of Fair Campaign Practices, from the Kansas Governmental Ethics Commission:

I shall conduct my campaign in the best tradition, discussing the issues as I see them, presenting my record and policies with sincerity and frankness, and criticizing without fear or favor the record and policies of my opponent and his or her party which merit such criticism.

–Nothing much to say about that.

I shall conduct my campaign without the use of vilification, character defamation, whispering campaigns, libel, slander, or scurrilous attacks on any candidate or his or her personal or family life.

–Not really planning to do any of that.

I shall conduct my campaign forswearing any dishonest or unethical practice which tends to discredit the legislative process or the Legislature as an institution.

–Can’t think any of that could be considered part of my plans.

I shall conduct my campaign without the use of campaign material of any sort which misrepresents, distorts, or otherwise falsifies the facts regarding the candidate, as well as the use of malicious or unfound accusations against any candidate which aim at creating or exploiting doubts, without justification, as to his or her loyalty and patriotism.

–That’s going a bit far. I don’t think I could honestly promise not to question a candidate’s loyalty to the interests of the people of Wichita, or particular candidates’ patriotism which I personally link directly to the Constitution, to which public service oaths are sworn to uphold and protect.

I shall refrain from the unfair practice of publicizing campaign material detrimental to my opponent too near election day to permit my opponent’s rebuttal.

–I suppose. That is some dirty tricks there.

I shall conduct my campaign without any appeals to prejudice based on race, sex, creed, or national origin.

–Would seem a supremely stupid idea.

I shall immediately and publicly repudiate support deriving from any individual or group which resorts, on behalf of my candidacy or in opposition to that of my opponent, to the methods and tactics which I condemn.

–That’s a case-by-case affair, and since I am not seeking the support of any particular group, and am not prepared to accept endorsements from any group, this does not apply in my case.

As far as individuals go, I don’t believe that anyone who would support my candidacy would resort to any of that, and if they do, I do hereby repudiate them proactively. You all be good, now.

To me, this whole document seems like a trap, somehow. I don’t intend to do anything like what I would be pledging not to by signing this document, but I’m really not interested in encumbering myself or my supporters with rules on conduct. We’re all grown-ups, and I don’t expect any problems.

To me it smacks of a limit on free speech, and as such, I do not want to dignify this document by signing and filing it, even though I don’t really see anything about it I necessarily disagree with.

